Over the past week or two I’ve noticed some really strange activity showing up in my referrer log. Someone out there is hammering the hell out of SEB and the other blogs I host by jumping from one link to another inside the sites within mere seconds of each request from a variety of IP addresses such as 202.108.1.3 and 202.108.4.123. A lot of them are jumping from various entry pages to the index page for Jenkins Online, which is the base blog all the other blogs are hosted off of. It’s a bizarre pattern that doesn’t appear to have any purpose other than the possibility that they’re trying to suck down every page on the site. I did a WhoIs on the IP addresses and came up with CNCGROUP Beijing province network, which is how I know it’s someone in China.
As if that weren’t enough, around 3AM last night there was a lot of similar activity by someone at IP address 70.87.104.181 which traces back to an American company: ThePlanet.com Internet Services, Inc. out of Dallas Texas. According to Whois that’s some form of web hosting provider. From at least 3:14AM last night (probably even earlier as that’s the oldest record I have on hand) until 3:39AM they sucked down some 104 pages of the site. What the hell are these people doing?



















So that’s why I haven’t had any hits today. They’re busy pestering you.
Actually I’ve only had a tiny handful of Chinese hits so far. I assume I don’t mention China enough to attract Chinese attention.